Your subscribed feeds are not being updated automatically because this setting is turned off.
Turn on automatic feed updates
You’ve successfully subscribed to this feed!

Updated content can be viewed in Internet Explorer and other programs that use the Common Feed List.

View my feeds

You’ve successfully subscribed to this feed!

Dysfunctional Literacy
You are viewing a feed that contains frequently updated content. When you subscribe to a feed, it is added to the Common Feed List. Updated information from the feed is automatically downloaded to your computer and can be viewed in Internet Explorer and other programs. Learn more about feeds.

Plus ButtonSubscribe to this feed

Feed imageDysfunctional Literacy
‎Today, ‎August ‎11, ‎2015, ‏‎5 hours ago

Nice Things cheap on Amazon!
‎Saturday, ‎August ‎08, ‎2015, ‏‎10:17:24 AM | dysfunctional literacyGo to full article
It’s inexpensive, not cheap.
It’s inexpensive, not cheap.

The problem with giving away stuff for free is that it can’t last forever. At some point, you have to start charging for it. So now is the time that you can get Nice Things cheap (instead of free) on Amazon. Cheap isn’t as good as free, but cheap isn’t bad either.

Nice Things is now $2.99 instead of free. Maybe $2.99 isn’t “cheap,” but Amazon suggested that I charge more. I mean, nobody from Amazon called me and told me to charge more. Amazon has an algorithm that suggests prices to authors to maximize profits.

The algorithm sounds impersonal, but the alternative would be for Amazon to hire a bunch of people to read all the e-books that get submitted and then tell the authors how much to charge. That would be an inefficient way to suggest pricing to authors. Amazon is probably better off with its algorithm.

I have no problem with the concept of maximizing profits, but since I’m not established at all as an author, I wanted to take the less expensive route. I thought about charging even less than $2.99, but Nice Things has a sex scene in it. I’ve written only one sex scene in my life, and this is it. I might not ever write another one.

If Nice Things has the only adult scene I’ll ever write, then I should charge at least $2.99 for it. Cheap sex is okay, but I don’t want it to be too cheap. Stuff like that can ruin a writer’s reputation.

I had a lot of fun writing Nice Things, even the parts that weren’t the adult scene. I know there are a lot of books out there to read, but if you like Dysfunctional Literacy, you’ll probably like Nice Things too.

So here it is!


New from Dysfunctional Literacy!

If you absolutely must do something morally wrong, just pretend that you’re doing Nice Things.

Now available on the Amazon Kindle!
Now available on the Amazon Kindle!

Go to commentsComments (15)
Nice Things for free on Amazon!!
‎Wednesday, ‎August ‎05, ‎2015, ‏‎10:57:47 AM | dysfunctional literacyGo to full article
This kind of opportunity doesn’t happen very often.
For free? This kind of opportunity doesn’t happen very often.

Everybody likes nice things. Nice things are better than mediocre things or bad things. The problem with nice things, though, is that they usually cost a lot of money. Sometimes you can get nice things on discount, but it’s not very often that you can get nice things for free.

Today is that day.

Right now Nice Things is free on Amazon. I can give it away for free only for a couple days, so if you don’t want to pay for it, you might want to get it soon.

I’ve been working on Nice Things for a while but haven’t been talking about it much. I thought that if I talked about it, that might keep me from working on it, so I figured it was better if I just wrote the darn thing and didn’t tell anybody until I actually clicked “publish.”

It has its flaws, and I’m aware of some of them. I’m sure there are some typos and missing words and things that don’t make sense, but hopefully my fool for an editor corrected most of the mistakes. If not, I’m going to feel kind of stupid.

I had a lot of fun writing Nice Things, but I’ve read it so many times I have no idea how good it is or how much it sucks. I’m also a little nervous because some of what I wrote could be taken the wrong way. That’s why it might be a good idea for you to get it free. But if you miss this chance, don’t worry. When it’s no longer free, you’ll still be able to get Nice Things for cheap on Amazon.


What about you? Have you ever spent so much time writing something that you no longer trusted your judgement? What is the worst mistake you’ve left in your writing?


It might be good. It might suck. Either way, for the next couple days, it’s free!

Now available on the Amazon Kindle!
Now available on the Amazon Kindle!

Go to commentsComments (30)
Show all items

Displaying2 / 10

All10New
Sort by:
List OrderDateTitleAuthor

Filter by category:
books10Dysfunctional Book Reviews6Dysfunctional Literacy2education4humor10life1literature5Nice Things2reviews2television1writing10
CheckedMark feed as readView feed properties…

ronaldjameslowry

Your subscribed feeds are not being updated automatically because this setting is turned off.

You’ve successfully subscribed to this feed!

Updated content can be viewed in Internet Explorer and other programs that use the Common Feed List.

View my feeds

You’ve successfully subscribed to this feed!

You are viewing a feed that contains frequently updated content. When you subscribe to a feed, it is added to the Common Feed List. Updated information from the feed is automatically downloaded to your computer and can be viewed in Internet Explorer and other programs. Learn more about feeds.

Plus ButtonSubscribe to this feed

Feed image
‎Today, ‎August ‎11, ‎2015, ‏‎5 hours ago

Books that Make Readers Angry

‎Sunday, ‎August ‎09, ‎2015, ‏‎8:21:28 PM | dysfunctional literacyGo to full article

I keep telling myself, it's not Harper Lee's, it's not Harper Lee's fault! (image via wikimedia)

“That ending sucks!” my oldest daughter exclaimed, slamming the book shut.

She had just finished reading The Giver by Lois Lowry. …

View original post 8,146 more words

Leave a Reply

