Facebook logo
Email or Phone Password

Keep me logged in
Forgot your password?
Dani Shapiro
is on Facebook.
To connect with Dani Shapiro, sign up for Facebook today.
Sign UpLog In
Cover Photo
Dani Shapiro
Dani Shapiro
Writer

Timelineselected
About
Photos
Likes
More

People
12,094 likes
About
Novelist, memorist, teacher, wife, mother, friend, yogini, and a bunch of other stuff too. Visit http://danishapiro.com/
http://danishapiro.com/
Apps

Sign up for Dani's Mailing List

Photos
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
‘A corner of my desk, which was once my father’s desk. Buddhas, favorite books, my One Story Mentorship Award (a handmade book in which students from the past 20 years made me weep,) a photo of my husband smoking on a rooftop in Somalia, another of me and my beloved aunt. A wishing stone from the shores of Positano. A bowl of ceramic letters from Moye Thompson spelling out Lisa B. Adams’ credo: Find a bit of beauty in the world today. This is my wish for everyone.’
‘Simple joy with my boy who is growing up so fast it makes my head spin.’
‘My mom and me at my wedding in 1997. She died six years later. I’m thinking of her on this mother’s day and wish I could pick up the phone and call her to say thanks for everything she did for me, and this: as I get older I understand she did the best she could.’
‘Because it was a sunny day. Because my boy just turned 16. Because I’m a proud mama.’
‘CT friends: I will be giving a keynote at the Writers’ Weekend & Book Fair at the wonderful Mark Twain House in Hartford on Saturday, April 18. Hope to see you there! http://www.courant.com/features/hc-author-talks-in-connecticut-20150401-story.html#page=1′
‘What was Jim Shepard saying to me and Tony Doerr? Workshop leaders cutting loose on the last night of Sirenland.’
‘Thank you, Positano. Another wonderful Sirenland comes to an end.’
‘When Grace Paley used to say she wrote in the bathtub, I’m pretty sure she was thinking of one like this.’
Videos

300

20

280

29

93

9
Posts To Page

Nina Duval
Today at 10:18am
I reached the last part of your book Still Writing about a week ago.... See More
Like · Comment · Share
Christine Hendershot
May 28 at 10:02am
I just started reading your book, Still Writing, and I love it! Ther... See More
Like · Comment · Share
The Common
May 12 at 6:02am
The Common is auctioning a chance to receive--or give as a gift--a p... See More
Like · Comment · Share

Liked by This Page

Positively Positive
Andre Dubus III
A Short History of Decay

English (US) · Privacy · Terms · Cookies · Ad Choices ·
More
Facebook © 2015
Dani Shapiro shared Brain Pickings’s photo.
May 28 at 1:59pm ·
Brain Pickings’s photo.
Brain Pickings

If you read one thing today, make it Dani Shapiro on the quest for connected consciousness and what learning to meditate teaches aspiring writers about the craft: http://www.brainpickings.org/20…/…/27/dani-shapiro-devotion/
Like · Comment · Share

Most Recent
Olga Aura, Claudia Dahinden, Nantucket Book Festival and 58 others like this.
View 2 more comments
Judy Feman True !
May 28 at 3:39pm
Sara DiVello Love this. And it's SO true!!
Yesterday at 8:47am

Dani Shapiro
May 27 at 8:02am ·

We tend to throw the word “brilliant” around a bit too easily, but Maria Popova actually is brilliant, and the times she has written about my work on Brain Pickings have moved me deeply. This morning she posted a beautiful piece about Devotion, and I am just thrilled.
An Animating Presence: Dani Shapiro on the Quest for a Connected Consciousness
The art of holding up one’s own end of the dialogue. “I believe that there is a love that moves the sun and the other stars,” physici
brainpickings.org
Like · Comment · Share

Most Recent
Margaret Gundersen-Doxey, Lanier Scott Isom, Michele Filgate and 196 others like this.
16 shares
View 12 more comments
Jan Haag Love Brain Pickings! Clearly, Maria Popova has great taste!
May 28 at 4:11pm
Jacqueline Luttrelle A wonderful review of a very interesting-sounding book.
May 28 at 7:15pm

Dani Shapiro added a new photo.
May 24 at 9:15am · Facebook Mentions ·
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

teach.yoga, Hillary Johnson, Barbara Tone and 58 others like this.
1 share
Judy Feman Hi Dani,just found your Bat Mitzvah program covered in green felt I think-do you have one ? Best,Judy
May 24 at 10:23am
    Dani Shapiro Oh, memory lane, Judy Feman! Yes, I do have one, thanks:)
    May 25 at 7:09am
    View more replies

Dani Shapiro
May 19 at 7:23am · Facebook Mentions ·

A corner of my desk, which was once my father’s desk. Buddhas, favorite books, my One Story Mentorship Award (a handmade book in which students from the past 20 years made me weep,) a photo of my husband smoking on a rooftop in Somalia, another of me and my beloved aunt. A wishing stone from the shores of Positano. A bowl of ceramic letters from Moye Thompson spelling out Lisa B. Adams’ credo: Find a bit of beauty in the world today. This is my wish for everyone.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

Most Recent
Kelly Peters, Marcella Detroit, Angie Harrison and 208 others like this.
1 share
View 5 more comments
Angie Harrison Beautiful Dani, a great reminder to make every space sacred and include ancestral connections
It's often these obvious and vital things we neglect, you've inspired me to sanctify my work area
1 · May 21 at 5:57pm
Kim Roberts Today I finished Still Writing, soaking in the hot springs at Ojo Caliente, and I feel changed. The chapters, "Tribe" and especially "Steward" were SO important for me as a new writer. Thank you. I look forward to meeting you in Aspen.
1 · May 21 at 8:03pm

Dani Shapiro
May 15 at 6:33am · Facebook Mentions ·

Simple joy with my boy who is growing up so fast it makes my head spin.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

Most Recent
Seema Sugandh, Ally Hamilton, Kelly Peters and 305 others like this.
View 16 more comments
Hallie Gay Walden Bagley Wow he looks so much like u here
1 · May 15 at 10:42pm
Amy Gralnick Perella So handsome Dani!
1 · May 16 at 12:05am

Dani Shapiro
May 13 at 11:11am ·

I’m glad I didn’t consider what people might think of me when I wrote my memoir Slow Motion. Some thoughts about writing, life, exposure, and the way we connect to our own work:
On The Work Itself | Dani Shapiro
Last night I gave a reading and was in conversation with the wonderful writer Amitava Kumar. I had never met Amitava before, though our paths have crossed at dozens of literary events over the years, most recently at AWP in Minneapolis. I was invited to join Amitava in the event by one of the best l…
danishapiro.com
Like · Comment · Share

Most Recent
Marcella Detroit, Ginny Brennan, C.C. Havens and 249 others like this.
20 shares
View 19 more comments
Sukey Forbes Always pitch perfect Dani. Thank you
1 · May 14 at 10:03pm
Gina Koper Who cares what people think?
May 15 at 4:17am

Dani Shapiro
May 10 at 8:23am ·

My mom and me at my wedding in 1997. She died six years later. I’m thinking of her on this mother’s day and wish I could pick up the phone and call her to say thanks for everything she did for me, and this: as I get older I understand she did the best she could.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

Akshat Jha, teach.yoga, Kelly Peters and 377 others like this.
View 14 more comments
Dawn Bernstein Love this. I can totally relate to this process and revelation. Just makes you want to reach out to her and say thank you.
May 12 at 5:58am · Edited
Barb Mailhot Here is a HUG for you......
May 12 at 6:55am

Dani Shapiro
May 7 at 11:37am ·

Thanks to Barnes & Noble for this very nice shout-out about STILL WRITING. It made my day!
Books Every Writer Should Have on Her Bookshelf
Behind the supposed glamour, writers have one of the toughest jobs in the world. It’s not easy to experience life in all its harsh colors, think deeply about what it means, and then find the right words to say something that hasn’t been said…
barnesandnoble.com
Like · Comment · Share

Ginny Brennan, Arjit Baghwala, Anne-Marie Desbiens and 323 others like this.
35 shares
View 32 more comments
Dani Shapiro Thanks, everyone, for such wonderful comments about STILL WRITING. This book was my love letter to other writers and artists -- to anyone attempting to live a creative life -- and the response means more to me than I can possibly express.
5 · May 9 at 7:59am
Anne-Marie Desbiens I always think of you when people ask me if I «still writing?» smile emoticon
May 19 at 6:02pm · Edited

Dani Shapiro
May 1 at 8:42am ·

You can’t make people like you. But you can stop viewing life as a popularity contest. An essay I just wrote for Elle:
What Do You Do When the Internet Hates You?
And other concerns…
elle.com|By Tanwi Nandini Islam
Like · Comment · Share

Jacqueline Whitmore, Silvia Corradin, Thaisa Frank and 291 others like this.
41 shares
View 41 more comments
Jacqueline Whitmore Love it!
May 14 at 10:55am
Kimberly Couzens I could so relate to seeking out Susie-face. Thanks for writing this.
May 15 at 7:01am

Dani Shapiro
April 21 ·

I cry every day. And other bulletins from the front of a writing life:
On What it Takes | Dani Shapiro
A number of years ago, I was seated next to a literary agent — not my own — at a dinner party. At some point during our conversation, she asked every writer’s favorite question: what are you working on? As it happened, I had recently begun working on a memoir. No one was more surprised by this de…
danishapiro.com
Like · Comment · Share

Anne-Marie Desbiens, Laurie Lico Albanese, Lucinda Ziesing and 444 others like this.
49 shares
View 43 more comments
Kimberly Brown I appreciate your writing and am often comforted by it. Thanks and good wishes...
1 · April 23 at 5:17am
Rich Elias I never cry. I just beat my head against the wall.
1 · April 23 at 7:26pm

Dani Shapiro
April 20 · Facebook Mentions ·

Because it was a sunny day. Because my boy just turned 16. Because I’m a proud mama.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

Barbara Dean, Seema Sugandh, Rissa Dayag and 342 others like this.
1 share
View 1 more comment
Jane Garapick Because we love the ones we love like we do. He's beautiful, Dani Shapiro. From one proud mama to another. It makes it all worth it.
1 · April 21 at 1:18pm
Barbara Dean So nice to see a picture of Jacob after reading much about him in your books!!
May 12 at 3:55pm

Dani Shapiro
April 14 ·

Good morning, friends! I’m just back from AWP, where I put my reporter hat on, in addition to my writer hat and my teacher hat. Here is my bulletin from the front. I hope you enjoy! Some of you may even recognize yourselves.
A.W.P.: A Convention for the Bookish – The New Yorker
It’s a familiar lament that books are dying, but in Minneapolis it was impossible to feel anything but buoyant optimism about the future of letters.
newyorker.com|By Dani Shapiro
Like · Comment · Share

JR Rich, Ebony Murphy-Root, Paul Lockwood and 220 others like this.
31 shares
View 12 more comments
Robin Reagler What a fun recap. It was a pleasure to meet you and Michael!
1 · April 15 at 12:57pm
    Dani Shapiro And you too, Robin!
    April 15 at 10:31pm
Sharon Van Epps Love this!
1 · April 15 at 3:16pm

Dani Shapiro
April 10 ·

Hi Friends! I’m in snowy Minneapolis at ‪#‎AWP15‬, and if any writer friends are in town for the conference, I hope you’ll come to my reading and talk tomorrow afternoon with the lovely Ana Menendez, moderated by the one and only Bob Morris. We’ll be in Ballroom A, Level 1 in the convention center at 4:30 tomorrow!

https://www.awpwriter.org/awp_conference/event_detail/4611
AWP: Conference Schedule
Search the AWP Conference schedule by day, time, title, description, participants, type of event, and various category tags.
awpwriter.org
Like · Comment · Share

JR Rich, Lori Jo Oswald, Robin Reagler and 13 others like this.
Annemarie Keenan Golden Happy Birthday!
1 · April 10 at 7:11am

Dani Shapiro
April 4 ·

CT friends: I will be giving a keynote at the Writers’ Weekend & Book Fair at the wonderful Mark Twain House in Hartford on Saturday, April 18. Hope to see you there!

http://www.courant.com/…/hc-author-talks-in-connecticut-201…
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

JR Rich, Melissa Hinton, Neila Nachi Bouattour and 39 others like this.
View 1 more comment
Bianca Ambrosio Sure
1 · April 4 at 3:51pm
Alexis A Zinkerman I will be there Saturday
1 · April 5 at 1:54pm

Dani Shapiro
March 30 ·

What was Jim Shepard saying to me and Tony Doerr? Workshop leaders cutting loose on the last night of Sirenland.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

JR Rich, Robin Reagler, Maui Escalona and 69 others like this.
1 share
View 5 more comments
Dorothy Mayler That is some laugh Dani!!
You look so happy,
1 · March 30 at 6:33pm
Sandra Jensen Fabulous.
1 · April 1 at 7:31am

Dani Shapiro
March 28 · Facebook Mentions ·

Thank you, Positano. Another wonderful Sirenland comes to an end.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

Jane Green, Silvia Corradin, JR Rich and 265 others like this.
3 shares
View 5 more comments
Judy Feman Next year for sure Dani !
March 29 at 4:44am
Laurie Schmid Lovely ... just lovely!
April 2 at 8:32am

Dani Shapiro
March 25 · Facebook Mentions ·

Bongiorno, Positano. Room service cappuccino, then off to teach along with Jim Shepard and Anthony Doerr.
2,543 Views
Like · Comment · Share

Rajedar Prasad, Katrina Viyar, Nathalie Manire Willard and 297 others like this.
1 share
View 18 more comments
Judy DiMatteo Absolutely beautiful; stayed in a Villa in Positano & used it as our base to travel all around the Mediterranean coast by car for 2 weeks with our Canadian friends! Best vacation ever!
March 28 at 7:16pm
Seema Sugandh I always love those incline walks in Positano. Thanks for the video. heart emoticon
April 6 at 1:36pm

Dani Shapiro at Le Sirenuse
March 21 · Facebook Mentions ·

When Grace Paley used to say she wrote in the bathtub, I’m pretty sure she was thinking of one like this.
Dani Shapiro’s photo.
Like · Comment · Share

Barbara Dean, Melissa Mariño, Dawn Morrison and 373 others like this.
2 shares
View 18 more comments
Pradeep Chakravarty Wha a view.
March 28 at 1:34pm
Barbara Dean JUST read that quote from her in your book today!!
May 12 at 3:56pm

Dani Shapiro
March 20 ·

Church bells at dusk in Positano. My happy place. Our writers’ conference, Sirenland, begins on Sunday.
2,601 Views
Like · Comment · Share

Alexey Balluci, Dawn Morrison, Neila Nachi Bouattour and 277 others like this.
21 shares
View 27 more comments
Summer Riddell Gilgallon One of my favorite places in the world! Honeymooned there at Le Sirenuse.
1 · March 21 at 8:34pm
teach.yoga oh my word...
March 25 at 1:50pm

Dani Shapiro
March 18 ·

An essay on the lessons I learned from Lisa Bonchek Adams is just up on The New Yorker:
Remembering Lisa Bonchek Adams – The New Yorker
The story Lisa Bonchek Adams told—the story of her own leave-taking—was ultimately a fearless form of memoir, with Twitter as her tool.
newyorker.com|By Dani Shapiro
Like · Comment · Share

Julianna Zakrzewska, Olga Aura, Susie Simmons and 193 others like this.
30 shares
View 33 more comments
Janna Brooke Wallack Cohen So wonderful Dani. Thank you for sharing this.
March 19 at 4:22pm
Katherine OBrien I also have Stage IV breast cancer and exchanged tweets with Lisa. I am not a mom and don't live in NYC but unfortunately we had this disease in common. Most people with early stage breast cancer will NOT go on to have a metastatic recurrence. Unfort...See More
Saying Goodbye to Lisa Bonchek Adams
Lisa Bonchek Adams  died on March 6, 2015 at age 45 from metastatic breast cancer. Our condolences to...
mbcnbuzz.wordpress.com
1 · March 22 at 7:07am

See More Stories
Sign Up Log In Messenger Mobile Find Friends Badges People Pages Places Games
Locations About Create Ad Create Page Developers Careers Privacy Cookies Ad Choices Terms
Help
Facebook © 2015
English (US)

front3

Leave a Reply

